This program emphasizes understanding and skill development in the heating, air conditioning, refrigeration and ventilation industry.
In addition, it develops knowledge in elements of the industry such as planning, management, finance, technical and production skills, as well as the underlying principles of technology, health, safety and technology, health, safety and environmental issues.

The objective of this program is to provide advanced training in the heating, air conditioning, refrigeration and ventilation industry.

The HVAC technician certification will prepare the student with the required skills and obtain the EPA 608 Certification in a program of 471 theoretical and practical hours, which also includes the 4 employment-ready. After the exam, the student can be employed as a HVAC certified technician.

Which topics does the HVAC technician certification program include?

  • Health, safety, and environmental systems.
  • History and basic principles of heating, ventilation, and air-conditioning.
  • Tools in heating, air-conditioning, and refrigeration industry.
  • Mathematics knowledge and skills.
  • Basic Electricity and electrical components of heating, air-conditioning, and refrigeration equipment.
  • Electrical generation and distribution components for commercial heating and air-conditioning systems.
  • Electrical motors and their components for commercial heating and air-conditioning systems.
  • Solid-state electronics in heating, air-conditioning, and refrigeration systems.
  • Single and three-phase power.
  • Properties of matter and heat behavior.
  • Fluids, pressures, refrigerants, and related codes.
  • EPA Rules and Regulations.
  • Maintenance requirements of system components and accessories.
  • Piping, tubing, and fittings.
  • Troubleshooting of residential and commercial equipment (evaporators, etc.) Servicing and testing equipment.
  • Installation of a residential system.
  • Heat-pump systems.

What is EPA 608 Certification?

Section 608 of the Federal Clean Air Act requires that all persons who maintain, service, repair, or dispose of equipment containing ozone-depleting refrigerants be certified in proper refrigerant handling techniques.
Testing must be administered by an EPA-approved certifying organization, according to the type of certification. Section 608 Technician Certification credentials do not expire.

Types of Certification

EPA has developed four types of certification:

  • For small appliance maintenance (Type I).
  • For maintenance or removal of high or very high pressure appliances, except small appliances and MVACs (Type II).
  • For the maintenance or disposal of low pressure appliances (Type III).
  • For the maintenance of all types of appliances (Universal).

What are the 4 employment-ready?

These are exams administered at the end of a training module in specific disciplines. In this way, employers can have an objective and standardized measure of the knowledge and preparedness of job applicants, regardless of where they have received training.

Air Conditioning

  • Air conditioning and cooling theory.
  • Equipment service.
  • Systems and components.
  • Problem-solving.
  • Coolant flow control theory and application.

Electric Heat

  • Systems and components.
  • Equipment, installation and service.
  • Heating systems and components.
  • Safety.
  • Theory and application.
  • Problem-solving.

Heat Pumps

  • Components.
  • Controls.
  • Heat pump cycle.
  • Service.
  • Theory.
  • Problem-solving.
  • Interpretation of heat pump schematics.


  • Use of meters.
  • Safety.
  • Theory.
  • Problem-solving.
  • Motor and capacitor fundamentals.
  • Interpretation of electrical diagrams.

The cost of the HVAC technician certification course includes the EPA 608 Certification and the 4 employment-ready, standardized exams administered at the end of each module that allow employers to validate the knowledge of applicants, regardless of their training center.

Solverwp- WordPress Theme and Plugin

Scroll to Top